Mexico Elects Claudia Sheinbaum as Its First Woman President

( – The Mexican presidential seat differs slightly from that of the United States. The leader in Mexico stays in charge for six years but can only serve a single term before it’s the next person’s turn. Since 2018, that person has been President Andrés Manuel López Obrador. The country just had its election and made history.

On June 2, the people of Mexico elected a woman and Jewish person as president for the first time ever — Claudia Sheinbaum. The president-elect holds a Ph.D in engineering and was the mayor of Mexico City. She has a reputation for being “brilliant” and “demanding.” With 95% of the votes counted in Mexico, Sheinbaum won by a landslide against Xóchitl Gálvez and Jorge Álvarez Máynez, with 59.2% of the vote. The other candidates earned 27.8% and 10.4%, respectively.

After her victory, López Obrador announced that the winner would be “Mexico’s first [woman] president in 200 years.” Stephania Navarrete, a homemaker who lives just outside Mexico City, said Sheinbaum’s win shows that women in Mexico are no longer “limited to certain professions” — a win for the country.

Sheinbaum’s two competitors also called to concede her victory. Gálvez said during her concession speech that she expects big “results and solutions” to Mexico’s problems with the upcoming presidency.

The newly-elected president promised she wouldn’t let the people of Mexico down. She is a supporter of President López Obrador, as they belong to the same party — Morena. As such, she promised to continue some of his policies, including paying for youths to apprentice and universal pay for the elderly. The biggest issue facing Sheinbaum seems to be cartel violence, with the Mexican economy also on voters’ minds.

President Joe Biden called Sheinbaum to congratulate her on the victory and the “success of their free and fair electoral process.” The two committed to a strong and cooperative relationship going forward. The president-elect will assume her duties as president on October 1.

Copyright 2024,