Hamadeh Announces Bid For Lesko’s Arizona Seat

(RepublicanReport.org) – Rep. Debbie Lesko (R-AZ) recently announced that she would not be defending her House seat in the upcoming elections, which leaves it up for grabs in a predominantly Republican district. At least a few contenders could step up before the primaries, but one conservative has already announced his bid. Republican Abe Hamadeh says he’s jumping into the race to back up former President Donald Trump and help “Make America Great Again.”

Hamadeh made his announcement only hours after Lesko made hers. The congresswoman has represented Arizona’s 8th Congressional District since 2018. She’s become increasingly frustrated with Washington, DC’s, “broken” system, pointing to the House’s inability to elect and retain a speaker as a major issue.

Local news source AZCentral adds that Lesko also feels her job, along with the travel it requires, is taking her away from her family, and she wants to be able to spend more time with her husband, three children, five grandchildren, and 94-year-old mother. Despite her planned departure, she insists that she hasn’t finished fighting to improve Congress and the lives of the American people.

Hamadeh posted on X, the social media platform formerly called Twitter, stating that he’s running for Lesko’s House seat because the country needs “courageous fighters.” He promised to stand up for Trump and the MAGA agenda. The conservative contender ran for attorney general in 2022, losing to Democrat Kris Mayes by a state record-breaking 511 votes. He challenged the results, but a judge threw out his case.

Other possible Republican challengers for the seat include State Treasurer Kimberly Yee, Arizona House Speaker Ben Toma, and Peoria Mayor Jason Beck. Venture capitalist Blake Masters, who was considering a bid for Senate before Kari Lake jumped into the race, is also a possibility, along with former Rep. Phil Lovas and Former Governor Jan Brewer. Regardless of who runs for the Democratic ticket, AZCentral predicts the seat will go to the winning Republican.

Copyright 2023, RepublicanReport.org