Rep. Nancy Mace Wins South Carolina’s Republican Primary

( – Representative Nancy Mace (R) is South Carolina’s representative for the First District, which runs along the coast of the state starting just above Charleston to Beaufort County — the Low Country. She is running for re-election in 2024 and was battling two other Republicans for the primary. On June 11, the results of that race were in.

That evening, Mace won her primary race against Catherine Templeton and Bill Young. The incumbent earned 56.8% of the vote to Templeton’s 29.8% and Young’s 13.4%, easily winning the nomination. Now, the lawmaker heads to November to face her Democratic opponent, candidate Michael Moore. He beat Democrat Mac Deford in the primary with 51.6% of the vote to his opponent’s 48.4% — a close race.

The representative was one of the eight GOP members to oust former Speaker Kevin McCarthy (R-CA) from his leadership position in the House. Since then, the former California lawmaker has not been shy about opposing certain members of the House for re-election — including Mace. He backed Templeton over the incumbent for the recent primary race, but that effort was unsuccessful. McCarthy hasn’t said whether he will make a move to back Moore heading into November for a second chance of unseating Mace.

Mace has held her position in SC’s First District since 2020, beating the Democratic incumbent, former Representative Joe Cunningham, by a mere 1.3%. He held the position for one term.

The other GOP members who chose to vote McCarthy out of his speakership role were Representatives Andy Biggs (AZ), Ken Buck (CO), Tim Burchett (TN), Eli Crane (AZ), Matt Gaetz (FL), Bob Good (VA), and Matt Rosendale (MT). Seven out of the eight who ousted McCarthy are up for re-election. Buck resigned from his position in the House. It’s unclear what kind of impact the former CA lawmaker will have on other primaries this election season. The next primary among the eight is Virginia for Good in the Fifth District. His opponent is John McGuire.

Copyright 2024,